Recent Studies Show Strong Correlation Between Work, Units Sold

NASHVILLE, TN – In a recent study conducted by the Company, researchers discovered a shocking positive correlation between the amount a student dealer worked and the number of units that he or she sold for the summer. Study-workers followed a sample of about 100 first year dealers and 40 student managers for the duration of the 2010 summer to record the data.

Lester Crafton, district sales manager, commented on the surprising evidence. “I’ve seen good salesmen and bad salesmen come through checkout for the last 15 years, and not once have these correlations occurred to me. I suppose I just haven’t looked at the numbers closely enough.”

The numbers indicate that dealers who worked an average of 0-40 hours per week during the summer sold significantly less than those who worked 41-80 hours a week, and even less than those who worked over 80. Oddly enough, the average sales of students who worked fewer than 80 hours per week is also less than those who worked more than 80 hours a week.

“Well, we’ve always emphasized ’80 hours a week’ to our rookies at sales school,” Lee McCroskey chimed in. “I figured it was just an extreme number that would help us weed out all the wusses; who knew there was actually a statistical correlation between ’80 hours’ and sales success?… You know what, come to think of it,  when I was a dealer I didn’t sell anything when I was sitting on that dirt-pile, but then when I started working again I started selling. Wow, this is going to be helpful in sales school next year.”

When some of the student dealers were approached for comment, they seemed a little less surprised at the data. “Actually this pretty much makes sense,” said Peter Sturdivant (pictured), 5th-year Org Leader from the University of Tennessee. “I’ve noticed that usually the more I work, the more I sell. In fact, I started noticing that my first summer when I’d work half a day and make some sales, but then if I took the rest of the day off it’s like the sales just quit immediately. It only took me a few weeks to figure all that out.”

“Yeah,” added first year, Joe McKnight.

Further confirming the work-units correlation, a survey of the Top 50 student managers and the Top 100 first years in total units sold revealed that 98% of the ranked students worked more than 80 hours per week for the summer. In contrast, of the students across the company who sold the least – 321 students who sold 0 units – a shocking 0% claimed to have worked 80 hours per week or more.

The highest average number of hours worked per week was 86, by a second year dealer who placed among the top 10 student managers. The lowest average number of hours worked per week was 0, shared by two first years who got some great sales experience at sales school, but realized on their drives out to their sales territory that this was not the job for them.

None of the dealers in the study worked more than 100 hours per week on average, and no one worked fewer than 0 hours per week.

Tagged , , ,

This story and whoever wrote it sucks and here's why...

